Elections (Elecciones)

Notice of Postponement of the May 2, 2020 General and Special Election

On March 13, 2020, the Governor of the State of Texas certified that the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) posts an imminent threat of disaster and, under the authority vested in the Governor by Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, declared a state of disaster for all counties in Texas.

On March 18, 2020, the Governor issued a Proclamation suspending certain sections of the Texas Election Code, among others, to allow political subdivisions of the State that would otherwise hold elections on May 2, 2020, to postpone General and Special Elections to the next uniform election date, which will occur on November 3, 2020.

On March 24, 2020, the Town Council of the Town of Argyle at its Regular Scheduled Meeting voted to approve ordinances to postpone the Town’s May 2, 2020, General and Special Election until November 3, 2020.

Special Election - Municipal Development District Designation

Find Frequently Asked Questions and additional information regarding the proposed Municipal Development District here:


Candidate Filings for 2020 Election (in order of receipt)

Place 1 Application Campaign Treasurer Campaign Finance
Bryan Livingston Application Appointment  
Tom Irwin Application Appointment  
Place 3 Application Campaign Treasurer Campaign Finance
Sherri Myers Application Appointment  
Richard Spies Application Appointment  
Place 5 Application Campaign Treasurer Campaign Finance  
Rick Bradford  Application Appointment    
CB Standridge Application Appointment    
The general municipal election is conducted each year on the first Saturday in May.  The Town Secretary serves as the Chief Election Official for the Town of Argyle and is responsible for conducting all Town elections by the Election Code of the State of Texas.

The Town of Argyle Council is composed of a Mayor and five council members.  Each council member is elected at-large and represents the entire community.  The 
Mayor and Councilmembers for Place 2 and Place 4 are elected in odd numbered years.  Councilmembers for Place 1, Place 3 and Place 5 are elected in even years.  All Councilmembers are elected for a two year term and are elected at-large, meaning they represent the entire Town.

May 2, 2020 General Election

The first day to file for a place on the May 2, 2020 General Election is Wednesday, January 15, 2020.  The last day to file for a place on the ballot is Friday, February 14, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.   

Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot

Internet Posting Requirements for Political Subdivisions/Requisitos de Publicación en Internet Para Subdivisiones Políticas

Eligibility Requirements (EC 141.001)

  • Must be a United States Citizen
  • Must be 18 years of age or older
  • Must not have been convicted of a felony
  • Must have resided in the Town of Argyle for 12 months prior to the filing deadline
  • Must be a registered voter in the Town of Argyle

Documents and Forms


Las elecciones municipales generales se llevan a cabo cada año el primer sábado de mayo. El Alcalde y los concejales de los lugares 2 y 4 son elegidos en años impares. Los concejales de los lugares 1, 3 y 5 son elegidos en años par. Todos los miembros del Consejo son elegidos por un período de dos años y son elegidos en general, lo que significa que representan a toda la Ciudad. 

2 de Mayo de 2020 Elecciones Generales

El primer día para solicitar un lugar en la Elección General del 2 de mayo de 2020 es el martes 15 de enero de 2020. El último día para solicitar un lugar en la boleta es el viernes 14 de febrero de 2020 a las 5:00 p.m. Los siguientes puestos están disponibles para elección:

Concejal, Lugar 1
Concejal, Lugar 3
Concejal, Lugar 5

Los Paquetes Candidatos pueden ser recogidos en el Ayuntamiento o por correo electrónico a la Secretaria Municipal Erika McComis. Cuando solicite un paquete por correo electrónico, incluya su nombre y dirección física de su residencia.